December 14, 2011
-
I was at the mall when I got a call from work. I had to take notes during the conversation, so I grabbed a napkin and sat down at one of the tables near the food court.

You probably don’t need me to tell you this, but napkins aren’t meant to be written on. And napkin + sharp-tipped pen + slatted table = being unable to read what you’d written down because the damn napkin is full of holes.
Anyway, while I was busy trying to write stuff down, I noticed this high school kid standing right in front of me.

Uhh…okay. Did this kid need directions to PacSun to get more skateboarding clothes? Because you know he shops there. They all do…and by the way, spending a ton of money on clothes that look kind of sh*tty doesn’t make much sense to me. I mean, this is the entire look:

Skateboarders don’t care about fashion! This is a laid-back outfit for laid-back skater people!
And then they go to PacSun or Tilly’s or whatever and spend hundreds of dollars on grungy T-shirts, caps, black shoes, and corduroy pants or khakis. But they’re still keeping it real because what’s more laid-back than buying all your clothes from one store?
I looked at this kid thinking he was going to ask me for directions or the time, but he instead said:

I didn’t even try to keep “who the f*ck are you?!” from showing up all over my face. That’s exactly what I would have said if I wasn’t on the phone–but I was. I was on the phone–as in, this douchie kid was asking to use my phone while I was still using it. That alone should have been enough to tell him he was better off asking some other complete stranger. I mean, what response what he expecting?



So not happening.
Rather than give him any sort of response, I went back to taking napkin notes and acting as if he wasn’t there. And while I might have looked like I didn’t care, that wasn’t the case at all because I was actually trying to strike his ass down with the “go f*ck yourself” energy bolts I was angrily emitting.

And you know what? He just stood there! Like, he was waiting for me to get off the phone and hand it to him!

The kid eventually left after standing there like a dumbass for a few minutes…but not without letting me know of his disappointment.

He’s going to get struck by a “go f*ck yourself” energy bolt eventually. I just know it.
Comments (34)
why not give him the phone? he sounds like a nice guy.
Wow. People these days.
hahaha you look so evil in the last frame!
I would have said “are you kidding me?” and made him feel stupid before he walked away, but then again I’m just rude lol
Wow – he didn’t even use “May I?” I cry for the future…
Wat if he is mentally challenged and lost!
I prefer hot topic.
Wat r u buying the kitties for Xmas!
I would have said to him to go fuck himself…
Lol…that is pretty cool…
The fuck. o_O
That is really odd. How young of a kid are we talking here?
huh. Maybe this kid was just kinda clueless or desperate or something.???? Never had that happen while I was on it.
He thought you were hot.
Should have yelled harassment to him.
oh, you weren’t aware; how awkward… those grungy cloths actually absorb “go F*ck yourself” bolts actually converting them into douche fuel for the wearer. you were making him stronger.
You’re calmer than me. I would have said “Hold on a second”, muted my phone, and screamed every swear word I know at him before exclaiming “WHAT DO YOU THINK I’LL JUST LET YOU STEAL MY PHONE MTHAFCKER??” The glares from surrounding people should be enough for his snobby ass to walk away in shame.
These are the same kids who asked to “borrow” a dollar from everyone during lunch. Leechers, man.
Should’ve just slammed his head into the table and taken your notes on his back. Make sure to dot your i’s extra hard.
OMG. The animations were priceless. I love them!!! Haha.
I can’t believe kids would just go up to a random person and ask that…seriously? You think Imma give you my phone with all my family, friends, and colleagues numbers in it? Oh and lets not forget all the other fun information on it. I don’t think so.
don’t hate me for stepping into that store. i liked looking i didn’t try too hard to look okay
You should have asked him to lend you his wallet.
Yup, damn high school teenagers. Though I’ve never encounter any bold ones like that.
What a fucking idiot. haha.
Wow. I think you did the exact right thing. He could have wanted to simply use your phone OR he could have used that as a pretext for stealing your phone. Either way, not going to happen.
Wow are you kidding me? What a self entitled TWAT! I hope he gets nailed in the balls.
I’ve been asked to use my phone by strangers twice before, both by older ladies. I was so scared they were just gonna take off running with it. But they didn’t. Oh, and they asked politely.
lol should have held up your phone with your middle finger!
i can make it better there without evercounting that part
Bawhahahaha “Hey lady let me borrow your phone!”
“Oh here, you can keep it, I’ll just go buy another one”
The kid had some nerve, true, but you’ve got to admit it made for a pretty funny story!
Haha… what a punk. I do hope he gets caught in a “go f@#k yourself” lightning storm.
Love your illustrations!
ps. It was me at the mall, I really needed to call my mom. to give me more money…. to buy more terrible clothes…. thanks for nothing.
It’s just a great way pick up girls. And by pick I mean add to his dungeon collection. Can I borrow our phone so I can memorize the number and kidnap you in your home later? Whew you avoided mortal danger! Good for you!
… do people actually ask like that ?
Looks like he was just trying to hit on you. Maybe a “dare” from friends.
Happy New Year! Have a Great 2012!
sry for trolling, but your cartoons are too funny – officially my new favorite blog